Broker Check
The United Nations Global Compact

The United Nations Global Compact

In 1999, United Nations Secretary General Kofi Annan challenged the global private sector to adhere to 10 principles of human rights, labor rights, environmental protection and anti-corruption.  Since then, over 15,000 companies in 170 countries, including SharePower®, have pledged to support the Compact and guide their operations by the ten principles.

The Ten Principles of the United Nations Global Compact are derived from: the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, the International Labour Organization’s Declaration on Fundamental Principles and Rights at Work, the Rio Declaration on Environment and Development, and the United Nations Convention Against Corruption.

Corporate sustainability starts with a company’s value system and a principles-based approach to doing business. This means operating in ways that, at a minimum, meet fundamental responsibilities in the areas of human rights, labor, environment and anti-corruption. Responsible businesses enact the same values and principles wherever they have a presence, and know that good practices in one area do not offset harm in another. By incorporating the Ten Principles of the UN Global Compact into strategies, policies and procedures, and establishing a culture of integrity, companies are not only upholding their basic responsibilities to people and planet, but also setting the stage for long-term success.  

SharePower advisors believe that if we demand responsibility from the companies we invest in, it is only right that we demand the same standards for ourselves and our business activities. In 2015 we became the first coalition of FINRA-regulated financial advisors in the US to sign and sustain our commitment to uphold and further the goals of the UN Global Compact. As a signatory, we report to the United Nations our progress in furthering the Global Compact principles in our annual Communication On Progress Report, available here as well as on the UN Global Compact website

<br data-mce-bogus="1"><br data-mce-bogus="1">The Sustainable Development Goals

The Sustainable Development Goals

Seventeen sustainable development goals (SDGs) were adopted by all 193 member states of the United Nations in September 2015, and endorsed as a natural expression of the Global Compact by the UNGC.  A blueprint for social progress, the SDGs cover issues including poverty, hunger, health, education, climate change, gender equality, water, sanitation, energy, urbanization, environment and social justice.

Our Global Compact Report

Access our latest Communication On Progress Report to the United Nations

Access Report

Responsible Investing

How we implement responsible
investing with you.

Learn more

Your Values Survey

What does 'socially responsible' mean to you? Take our survey to start the conversation.

Complete Your Survey

Have a Question?

Thank you! Oops!